Free Translators Rock the World

I just got my brand new Nexus One (thanks to a friend of mine, ‘cause in Italy we can’t buy it), and since I’m kind of a picky translator that enjoy taking a look at how things have been translated into my own language, I was looking at the Italian translation of my Nexus One.

Well, first it is nice to have a localization even if you can’t really buy the phone in Italy, but there are things that made me laugh. When you add a contact in the Nexus One, you are asked for the “Given name” of that person: in Italian it has been translated a little bit too literally in “Nome fornito”.🙂 That really made me laugh!

I’m pretty sure that a Free Translator would have never done that! We Rock the World!

PS: does somebody know how Google handle the Nexus One translation? Just got mine, so I’ve not start to look at all those things…

4 commenti
  1. If you change Android image, and take a community image you’ll get a better translation. This is what I use on my G1 and the guy is cooking images also for N1: http://www.cyanogenmod.com

  2. Claude ha detto:

    Hey, I had the same observation last week while playing on a Wii. “Stage” in English is translated as “stage” in French which has a very different meaning.

  3. I can totally relate.

    I normally use my Android with English locale but switched to German for a manual last week:
    »Wireless controls« in German is »Wireless« and »Sound & display« is, well, the same.

    You rock, Milo.🙂

Lascia un commento

