DUCC-IT

The acronymn in the title stands for:

Debian Ubuntu Community Conference – Italy

and that’s, to my knowledge, the first of its kind… but definitely not the last.

First of all, big kudos to the people behind the organization of this wonderful event (in totally casual order):

  • the men and women behind FSUG Italia (Free Software User Group Italy) (I can’t remember all your names, apologies, but I think you know who you are!)
  • Luca Bruno (kaeso) from the Debian Italian community
  • Paolo Sammicheli (xdatap1) from the Ubuntu Italian community (and Monia too! also for their hospitality!)
  • the men and the women from the Perugia hacklab “Projectz on Island”
  • the Maths Department of the University of Perugia
  • Stefano Zacchiroli for being there with us
  • all the men and women that were there!!!

The DUCC-IT has been a remarkably experience: seeing gold old friends, and meeting new people from the FLOSS world, and in particular from Debian and Ubuntu, is always great.

DUCC is a joint Debian – Ubuntu conference born from an idea of the FSUG guys (if I’m not totally wrong) (I was wrong, thanks Zack for the heads up!) at the last UDS from Stefano, Paolo, and Sergio Zanchetta. Debian and Ubuntu hackers sharing the stage in their expertise fields, talking about what they love the most with the people from the other side of the barricade (if you pass me the expression).

I really loved the idea and the experiment of sharing my talk with somebody else (Francesca Ciceri in my case) from the Debian community. I think we should try to repeat it more often: it’s a great way to work more closely together even outside of the normal workflow we all stick to.

I have a lot of things to say about these last two days, but can’t make up my mind to find the right words… As usual, it’s sad to leave such great people after some wonderful days together, we don’t always know when we are going to see each other again.

Just to try to sum it up, ‘cause words are really hard on me tonight:

  • We decided that we will be holding another DUCC-IT next year (where and when not yet decided)
  • We are going to open a neutral “forum” (mailing list or whatever) where our two communities can talk together (something that doesn’t have the Debian or Ubuntu word in it) (Stefano, if you will ever read this: remember to open the alioth project!🙂 )
  • When the next DUCC-IT meeting will arrive, we have to know where and when the next one will be held
  • After the Debian / Ubuntu Women talk, we need to take more action, and we need to have a women space again in our next meetings
  • I hope the FSUG people, or whoever is behind the DUCC-IT acronym, will not kill me: to all the Debian and Ubuntu communities out there, take the DUCC-IT acronym, replace IT with your local country code, and repeat this experience with your local Debian/Ubuntu communities.
  • My photo-stream of the conference
5 commenti
  1. Thanks for this very nice blog post! It’s been a pleasure for me as well, to meet all those enthusiastic people contributing to Debian and/or Ubuntu. It ain’t easy to organize my trip there, as I was in the middle of a work conference, but it’s been *totally* worth it!

    See you all next year, I hope.

    PS Just as a minor nitpick, the idea of DUCC-IT was born at last UDS, in a fairly typical “coffee break moment” with myself, Paolo Sammicheli, and Sergio Zanchetta.

    • Milo ha detto:

      Zack, thanks for the heads up on the name, and thanks again for being there!
      See you next year! (If we don’t see each other at some other conferences!)

Lascia un commento

